You are here: Home > Specials > Testimonials

Testimonials

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Twitter
  • RSS

30 Responses to “Testimonials”

  1. Delicious traditional italian pizza, NO PIZZA CRUST LEFT!

    I have found the perfect pizza at Cardini’s restaurant.

    Menu is printed daily which reflects the freshest of ingredients available during the morning at the markets. From this menu we selected the following:

    – I have ordered a 12″ pizza with lightly shaved sweet onions with black olives and salami, just perfect.

    Our dining experience at Cardini’s Hythe Kent began and ended perfectly.

    It took about 15 minutes before the arrival of our pizza, it was fresh and hot with all the characteristics of my ideal Italian style pizza.

    Do not forget to order their amazing afters, I have chosen ice cream.

    Bon appetit everybody!

    • I really love italian pizza, I have been here a few good times already and all the times I have been amazed by the food variety and quality!

      The pizza was just perfect!
      I am pretty sure that I will go back soon.

    • Chris (Kent) says:

      What’s not to love at Cardini’s and who doesn’t like pizza! We had about three out of the variety of pizza they are serving and I must say that they all were amazingly yummy delicious. The crust was very fresh and slightly crisp. I always live little room to try desserts – they are made then and there. Pure italian style food at is best!

  2. Eillen says:

    If you enjoy good italian cooking you must give this restaurant a go . The owner is a real foodie and cares passionately about what he does , nothing is too much trouble We recently took some friends to dinner over the christmas period and one of them wanted to try an Italian dish that was not on the menu , was this a problem , certainly not ! The owner even came over afterwards and told her how to make it , she was delighted ! They have now booked to take their family they were so impressed We don’t like garlic but as everything is cooked fresh to order this has never been a problem. I really cannot rate this superb little reataurant highly enough , Hythe is very lucky to have it , why it is not rated the number 1 in hythe is beyond me I would give it ten stars if i could

    -Eillen

  3. Bav96 says:

    Terracotta is an amazing restaurant in Hythe and truly is a hidden gem. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. On arrival we received a platter which consisted of olives, bread and butter and small garlic bread pieces. The restaurant should be packed for the quality of the food, honesty the best place I’ve been to!! The owner is lovely and willing to discuss in detail about your dish too!

    Bav96

  4. Barry says:

    Thank you for yet another excellent meal, we have never found any reason not to praise your food and service, please be assured we will return many times and tell all our friends about you, pure Italian food and service, what more could one ask, we are so lucky to have you in Hythe. Thank you.

    -Barry

  5. Katie says:

    we visited this place a couple of months ago and are yet to review it, the idylic town of hythe is blessed to have an independent restaurant of such character, culture and charisma. the food was delicious, beautiful appetisers on arrival, followed by faultless starters, mains and desserts, prompt jolly service, an owner who truly cares about his staff and customers and some of the sweetest, chatty well mannered teens working on waiter/waitress service. everything about this little place was 5* I would reccommend time and time again… when a restaurant sticks in your mind after months have past and you still feel compelled to write a good review you know it really was top notch! well done terracotta, the restaurant business is a hard game but you guys really seem to get it all just right! cannot wait to visit again on our next break away to hythe!

    -Katie

  6. Jo M says:

    I have just returned home and let my ‘food baby’ settle down after having my first experience at Terracotta. I have lived in Hythe nearly three years and have never had a chance to visit. Well tonight my partner’s mother took me for dinner there and we were really impressed. The welcome was warm and not too over the top, the atmosphere was nice and serene, casual, not ‘hoity toity’.
    We had a lovely glass of red wine (I apologise I couldn’t even begin to remember how to spell it!) and were swiftly brought some olives, mini bruschetta with tomatoes and fresh bread. Lovely. We ordered the tagliatelle bolognaise which was delicious-great balance of flavours and not too overpowering with perfectly cooked tagliatelle pasta and the risotto alla funghi which was cooked to perfection. For dessert we shared the home-made tiramisu and were blown away-we wish we had ordered one each! We most certainly will be visiting again, accompanied by my coeliac other half as we were told that they do not mind making allowances for special dietary requirements! BONUS! Thank you for a lovely evening, Terracotta!

    Visited November 2013
    Jo M

  7. Michele says:

    Io e la mia compagna Relly abbiamo avuto il piacere di essere stati ospiti di Giancarmine e Dini presso il loro ristorante “Terracotta”. Abbiamo quindi potuto godere della ottima cucina, memorabili sono state le “linguine all’astice” e di tutto rispetto la carta dei vini delle migliori case produttrici italiane. E’ molto apprezzabile l’accoglienza calorosa di Giancarmine e la dolcezza nei modi di Dini che riescono a farti sentire in un ambiente caldo e familiare. Io, quale rappresentante della “Accademia Italiana della Cucina” vi dico BRAVI continuate così per mantenere alto il nome e la tradizione della nostra cucina

  8. Mrs C F says:

    “A true Italian restaurant with superb authentic food: a little gem”

    On one of our frequent spur of the moment visits to Hythe Mrs CF and I turned up on a Friday evening as the restaurant was opening but they were happy to accommodate us. We were looking for good but not too expensive food. We did not get it: we got an excellent meal for a very reasonable price. We both opted for a starter of melted mozzarella and avocado followed by a main course of rolled chicken which was divine. The zabaglione desert was scrumptious and served with true Italian flare. This small, unassuming family restaurant tucked away an the end of the High Street is an absolute must. It is one of the best Italian restaurants that we have eaten in – and we have eaten in loads of Italian restaurants including many in Italy!

    Visited March 2014

  9. Ceta says:

    The best meal we have ever had x
    Hospitality was amazing we tried to get a table on the off chance but as expected fully booked so we went up the road to Mexican restaurant . It was so awful we decided to leave. They did try to charge us for our whole order but we refused and left. So we went back to terracotta Hoping someone hadn’t turned up for there table. We explained what had happened althought they had no table to offer we were treated so well. They wouldn’t let us leave we were offered a comfy sofa given wine pizza olives brussettas and it was all delicious . It was our 22 nd wedding anniversary and one we will never forget. The kindness the service the hospitality was the best we’ve ever had x would recommend to every one

  10. Nick says:

    “Absolutely faultless”

    May 2014

    I have lived in Hythe for many years but today was my first visit to this hidden gem. We visited with friends who are regular visitors and had a fabulous, unhurried meal.

    I ordered the fillet steak and have to say that it was possibly the best steak I have ever eaten. Cooked to perfection by the host who clearly loved what he does and that passion shines through in his cuisine. My wife had the meatballs and pasta and also very much enjoyed her choice. We’ll definitely be eating there again before long.

    Nick Hythe

  11. Jenny says:

    Beautiful food , relaxed atmosphere”

    May 2014

    Such a lovely relaxed atmosphere, informal dining at it’s best.
    We started with the mussels (huge portion) and the roasted pepper and halumi .
    Mains, seafood spaghetti , chicken rolled with spinach and mushroom . Had to keep trying each other’s as it was all amazing. Came to about £20 each (until we added wine)
    My only regret ….. I couldn’t squeeze in one of the homemade puds !!
    Would happily recommend to couples and families

    Jenny

  12. Katie says:

    We went to the terracotta on the 30/5/14 for a meal out it was our first vistit and was not disappointed at all my partner had the SPAGHETTI CON ARAGOSTA and I had the FILETTO DI MANZO AL PEPE and it was amazing. We was greeted with a welcoming smile, service was great and they even showed us the way to the toilet and there puddings are amazing too so moreish. If you get the chance go in there its good value for you money and food is great what more can you ask for!!!! We will be back for a different dish soon xXx

  13. Cielward says:

    “Excellent Italian food.”

    We visited this restaurant on the evening of 21st May and were delighted with both the service and the quality of the food. The restaurant is much larger than it appears from outside but still retains and intimate feeling. The proprietor and his wife could not have been more friendly and helpful. My wife ordered the Calamari for starters and received a large plateful which she said was absolutely delicious. The same was true of my parma ham with cherry mozzarella balls. The fillet steak that I had for a main course melted in the mouth. It was fortunate that the proprietor ‘dissuaded’ me from a side order of vegetables; the green beans together with the potatoes were more than sufficient. The house wine was very good. As my wife does not drink I had 2 glasses of the house red, but for others there are some excellent wines available at prices rising to £300+ per bottle. However there are also plenty in the £20 to £30 category. Excellent food, excellent service. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant

  14. John & Pamela Bryce says:

    We visited the restaurant on the 3rd of July 2014,

    The food was outstanding everything we asked for was no problem, The owners made us feel so welcome, We would highly recommend the fillet steak!!! We had our 10 month baby daughter with us the owners were amazing with her, giving her little treats, when we had finished our meal our daughter was starting to get a bit grumpy so we asked if we could have a tiramisu to take away, this was presented in a beautiful container and the owner did not hesitate to give us one to take away!! It was the best ever tiramisu we have ever tasted!!

    Thank you once again for the beautiful meal, welcome and of course your container we will return it one day when we are back in Hythe!!

  15. Mike & Stephanie Doble says:

    our third visit on Saturday 9th since moveing to Hythe and it gets better and better !!!

    First visit was when we had no kitchen and visits 2 and 3 were with friends who were equally impressed

    Veal, risotto and all the pastas can be recommended…I am sure the rest is great too !! Very decent house red and it does not break the bank

    we will be back and now consider it a regular venue for a good meal out…..oh did I mention the ice cream…scrummy !!!

  16. Mrs C says:

    My husband & I went on Valentines Evening . A lovely set menu, beautifully cooked and an attentive host. We had a lovely evening. A little gem in Hythe.

  17. Kim says:

    Kim
    15/03/2015
    Wonderful, catered well for our family, even with young children. Exceptional service and fantastic food, definitely the best Italian we’ve been to, a little piece of Italy tucked away in Hythe. We even drove 40 miles to get there and will do again

  18. Andy says:

    Came across Terracotta by accident when we were in the area 5 years ago, and resolved to dine there again when we could. Couldn’t really justify a 320 mile round trip just for a meal at Terracotta, but as we were going to the World Rallycross meeting at Lydden Hill it was the perfect opportunity. We were not disappointed! The meal was excellent in every respect, and the whole experience made our weekend away something special. We will definitely be back next time we are in Kent.

  19. Merixon says:

    We found this restaurant using Google since we needed somewhere to eat in the evening. One of the most successful results from Google for a long time. We were greeted in a very friendly way when we turned up and that is how the evening continued. Service was quick and attentive without being overbearing. The food was just spot on and for once we couldn’t find a weak part of the meal. If we make it back to Hythe this will definitely warrant another visit – we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  20. Sarah says:

    Sarah Brann
    09/08/2015
    Service : 5/5, Menu : 5/5, Ambiance : 5/5, Global : 5/5

    Fantastic food served in a cosy environment. Excellent attention and service. This was my second visit, and most definitely won’t be the last!!

  21. Ruth says:

    Ruth Taylor
    13/08/2015
    Service : 5/5, Menu : 5/5, Ambiance : 5/5, Global : 5/5

    Table nicely set. Very nice complimentary appetisers. Prompt service. Delicious food. Thank you . We were a big group and had a lovely evening.

  22. Sheila says:

    sheila Reynolds
    25/09/2015
    Service : 5/5, Menu : 5/5, Ambiance : 5/5, Global : 5/5

    second visit , fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service….we will be back.

  23. Sara says:

    Absolutely amazing evening at the terracotta had by our group of 18! Fresh food, friendly staff and an amazing atmosphere for my 40th birthday celebrations! Really can’t recommend this restaurant enough, thank you so much for a lovely time!

  24. Relly says:

    Wow non vedo l’ora di arrivare Terracotta ☺ per godermi il bel piatto di linguine all’astice mmmmm…. mamma che buono… e di vivere quel calore della vostra gentilezza in un ambiente accogliente e rilassante
    Il mio soggiorno a Londra sarà di lunga durata e la mia abitazione lontana da questa meraviglia, ma …. non lontano sarà il piacere di assaporare la vostra ottima cucina nel week end insieme alle mie amiche e colleghe di lavoro.
    Giancarmine e Dini siete meravigliosi, calorosi, …… SIETE INSUPERABILI IN TUTTO !!!
    un abbraccio affettuoso (Relly)

  25. MR &MRS Y says:

    “All food cooked fresh”

    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 May 2016

    Was great food in a charming little restaurant, fresh pizzas, pasta and salad all made to order!
    Friendly owners and great food.

  26. Tosac says:

    Truly traditional and scrumptious. We arrived without a reservation around opening time and was graciously accommodated even though the restaurant was fully booked for the evening. (Recommendation – always make a reservation). We had a variety to have a taster and highly recommend the spaghetti bolanaise, the fried courgette, and the mozzarella and rosemary flat bread. The house white wine was good also, and we topped it off with some yummy gelato. The owners are very friendly and make an effort to connect with their customers. Freshly prepared to order is welcomed. Will definitely make this a regular.

    Visited May 2016

  27. Andy says:

    A lovely evening, will be back when next in the area”

    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Originally found by chance while in the area for the International Rallycross meeting at Lydden Hill some years ago, this is our third visit. I’m not sure which we looked forward to the most this year, Peta Solberg and Sebastian Loeb blasting round the circuit or the meal at Terracotta!

    After a 160 mile drive through bank holiday traffic we were rewarded with superb meals served by friendly staff. The balance of flavours in every course was perfect.

    I can recommend the Hazelnut Ice Cream to finish off with.

  28. Kathryn says:

    fab meal”

    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Staff lovely ..fresh authentic Italian food..great place..enjoyed it thoroughly…delicious and plenty choice…food prepared once ordered..tells you on menu and youngster drink and canapes while you wait..and it’s not an excessive amount of time..

Leave a Reply